All Collections
Snap 3 - Web App 🖥
Assets
How to Add a Users and Assign User Roles
How to Add a Users and Assign User Roles

Setting up your users and customising their access.

SnapInspect avatar
Written by SnapInspect
Updated over a week ago

If you have been wondering how to add users to your company and what kind of user levels there are? Then you have come to the correct support document.
​ 
 A ‘user’ is anyone who can access the SnapInspect account.
​ 
​ There are four types of users of SnapInspect: 

  • Company Admin – Can do everything (including inspections)

  • Property managers – Can view and carry out inspections for all of the company’s assets, but they can’t change the account settings

  • Contractors – Can only see the property that they manage and do the inspection for those properties

  • Report viewer – Can view the report, can also see the whole company’s portfolio plus inspections and is unable to carry out inspections.

To Delete or Edit a User:
 
  Simply follow the below steps but instead of clicking on "New User" you would click on an Existing User and you would "Delete" or "Edit" that user. Don't forget to click "Save" once done making changes.

To add a user: 

  1. Log into your account via our website

  2. On the left side of the homepage, click ‘Users.'

  3. Click ‘New User.'

  4. Enter the new user’s details and click ‘Add.
    ​ 

User Roles & Custom Permission

You can further customise each users role within your organisation. Simply click on the "Custom Role" button at the top right of the users tab in the web app (see image below).

A pop-up will appear where you can start to configure either an existing role you've created or create a completely new user role. Simply click on the "New Role" button

and you will be taken to a screen where you can customise some options for this new role - see video below:

You can name the custom role and then proceed to configure options for both the Web App and Mobile App permissions.

For the Web App you have the below options:

Allow Login - Choose if you want to grant this user role access to login to the web app. If turned off the user will not be able to log in to the web app. They can still have access to the mobile app if you need.

Show Assets Tab - This will toggle on/off the users ability to see the assets tab in the web app.

Enable Quick Edit - This will toggle on/off the users ability to edit any inspections after they have completed it.

Show Tasks Tab - This will toggle on/off the users ability to see the tasks tab in the web app.

Show Projects Tab - N/A Feature is not yet released.


For the Mobile App you have the below options:

Allow Login - Choose if you want to grant this user role access to login to the mobile app. If turned off the user will not be able to log in to the mobile app. They can still have access to the web app if you have this allowed.

Show Assets Tab - This will toggle on/off the users ability to see the assets tab inside the mobile app.

Show Projects Tab - N/A Feature is not yet released.


Once you have created the user role you can save it apply it to any user in your organisation. To apply it to any user simply click on the "Action" button then select "Edit" from the dropdown. A pop-up will appear where you can select the newly created user role under the permission drop down.

Did this answer your question?